Ladies and Gentlemen…

 

Who is Lupita Nyong’o?

The 30-year-old actress, who landed her starring role in 12 Years a Slave before she even graduated the Yale School of Drama, has let it slip she keeps a journal, but as far as the secrets scrawled in it go, she won’t say. “I don’t want to bring that up,” Nyong’o chirps in her beguiling accent—she’s a theatrically trained, Mexican-born Kenyan living in Brooklyn, after all. But who can worry about confessions marked in a diary when what’s happening to Nyong’o in public is so very enthralling?

Lupita on learning of fame with her role in Twelve Years a Slave:

“When I learned Steve McQueen was directing and Brad Pitt was producing, I thought, Well, this is huge,” she says. “I had no expectation of getting the role at all; it was just too out there for me to think I had a chance. So I approached the audition like a rehearsal. It was my chance to have that role for 10 minutes, and I owned it. Then I got the part and the panic began.”

Lupita on her career goals as an actress:

“I would love to have a career that’s governed by the material; I always want to be part of stories that I feel are worthwhile,” she says when asked about the future. “And they don’t all have to be as heavy as 12 Years a Slave. I do my best work when I feel conviction to say something through the character I play. Always I want to have integrity and not compromise that.”

Article/Photo/Style credit:

Adam Rathe
Photographed by Steven Pan
Styled by David Vandewal  DuJour Magazine]

Mocha’s mantra: Keep doing what makes you happy, my dear beautiful  well-learned and well played Miss Lupita!

Mocha’s Vodka dujour: Chopin Vodka, a polish potato vodka named after the composer.

Mocha’s drink of choice:  Not sure if Lupita drinks, but Mocha heard she loves kale.  How ’bout a Kale and lime infused Virgin Martini with a little cranberry juice splash, shaken and poured over ice.  Interesting!  As for Ole Mocha, she’ll have her Kale and Vodka drink, too thank you!  Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

